Vietnam: In Their Own Words
Story Telling at the Vietnam Women’s Memorial
Firday, November 11, 2005
click this icon to view text of presentation
9:00 a.m.
Dr. Patricia Hinton Walker
Dean, The Graduate School of Nursing
Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences
Presentation of the 10th Anniversary Coin
9:30 a.m.
MAJ. Laura Newkirk, LCDR Christopher Smith, CPT Brad Franklin, Capt. Sadie Kaprielian, LT Jerrol Wallace,
Ms. Martha Kearns - Operation Iraqi Freedom
10:30 a.m.
Colonel Constance Moore, U.S. Army
Commandant, Graduate School of Nursing
11:00 a.m.
Dr. Elspeth Ritchie
Psychiatric Consultant to the Army Surgeon General
11:20 a.m.
Emily Strange, American Red Cross – Vietnam 1968-1969
11:40 a.m.
L. Steven Moore, U.S. Army – Vietnam 1967-1968
12:00-2:00 p.m..
Ceremony at The Wall
2:00 p.m..
Colonel Lenore Enzel, U.S. Army
Deputy Commander, Patient Services and Nursing
William Beaumont Army Medical Center
(Board Member, Vietnam Women’s Memorial Foundation)
2:30 p.m..
Ed Henry, U.S. Navy -- Vietnam 1965-1966.
3:00 p.m..
Sheri Bowen, Founder, Roses for Vets
3:00 p.m..
Major Sheldon Smith, U.S. Army
3:30 p.m..
Marsha Guenzler-Stevens, Lessons Learned in Ten Years of Story Telling
Vice President, Vietnam Women’s Memorial Foundation Board
Vietnam: In Their Own Words, Story Telling at the Vietnam Women’s Memorial is an educational program presented by the Vietnam Women’s Memorial Foundation.
The Vietnam Women’s Memorial Foundation is a non-profit organization dedicated to honoring women who served during the Vietnam era. For additional information on the Memorial or its projects including other educational programs, Sister Search, publications, products, or research on women who served during the Vietnam era, you are invited to visit the Foundation’s Web site at
If you would like to participate in upcoming Storytelling events, please contact Dr. Marsha A. Guenzler-Stevens, Chair of the Education Committee, Vietnam Women’s Memorial Project Board of Directors, at 301-314-8505 or via e-mail at You may also contact the Project’s Board of Director Founder and President, Ms. Diane Carlson Evans via e-mail at